We shouldn’t have any monuments to man

The recent uproar in Virginia about the removal of a statue should be a non issue. Because I believe that we shouldn’t have any monuments to celebrate man. None of em…George Washington, MLK, Abe Lincoln, veterans…whoever.  Like all of us, people of fame are all sinful people, and should never be exalted. 

I know that it may just be me, but I sincerely believe that patriotism is one of the most evil idolatries out there. You’re familiar with the mantras to false gods that exalt man in the idolatry of patriotism… God and country, the pledge of allegiance, In God we trust, God bless America.   These are all lies that honor man & patriotism, and not the true God. 

The Lord Jesus Christ is that name above all names that should be exalted.  Some people might say, “thank a vet for your freedom.” And they’re certainly free to thank whoever they want. But I thank the Lord Jesus Christ.

Incidentally, I live in the south, the Houston area to be exact. And now in light of the Virginia uproar, there’s buzz about removing our Sam Houston statue. And I say, fantastic, tear it down…tear down all monuments to man.

5 Comments

  1. Good post. You are exactly right Lee. Tear them all down. Exodus 20:4 “Thou shalt not make unto thee any graven image, or any likeness of any thing that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth”. Isaiah 42:8 “I am the Lord: that is my name: and my glory will I not give to another, neither my praise to graven images”.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lee, I get this! not a stand most people would take. It’s good to thank God for all we have, including freedom, and to honor those who protect our lives, but I do believe that patriotism and faith got married and they are different things altogether. Jesus said, “My kingdom is not of this world.” We who know Him must believe and say this.

    Lord bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

