“For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do.” Romans 7.19

15

“Whosoever is born of God doth not commit sin; for his seed remaineth in him: and he cannot , because he is born of God.” 1 John 3.9

Do you ever read a passage like that one above and think, “I must not be saved then, because I sin constantly?”

Well you’re not alone my friend, every Christian has the bane of sinful flesh. Even the apostle Paul had continuous ongoing sin that grieved him. And thankfully, he made it clear that it isn’t our spirit, (our new man) that commits sin, but rather, it’s our flesh that sins. Our flesh wasn’t born again, and it’s our flesh that vexes our spirit. So there’s a constant battle going on to have our flesh submit to the will of our regenerated spirit.

Romans 7

15. For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I.

1616. If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good.

1717. Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.

1818. For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not.

1919. For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do.

2020. Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me.

2121. I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me.

2222. For I delight in the law of God after the inward man:

2323. But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members.

2424. O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death?

2525. I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.

Paul was dead-on accurate with his honesty. And this truth is why we can’t look to our fluctuating taming of the flesh to validate our salvation. What we are believing determines the validity of our salvation.

Do you look at yourself and think…”Man I ain’t got nothin to be proud of in me, I’m just resting in the death, burial, and resurrection of the Lord Jesus Christ. That’s the only truth that I take stock in, because I’m a mess.”

If that describes you…you are saved. 😃

“But to him that worketh not, but believeth on him that justifieth the ungodly, his faith is counted for righteousness.” Romans 4.5

Click here for the way of salvation

Leave a Reply

