There are 2 types of professing Christians

But only one is genuine Christianity, only one is genuine salvation. Romans chapters 3 & 4 make it clear, salvation is by faith alone.

Category 1: Resting in the finished work of Christ by faith alone.

Category 2: Repentance of sins plus faith in Christ.

Repentance of sins, (turning from sins) is in every case works… Jonah 3.10, “And God saw their works, that they turned from their evil way; and God repented of the evil, that he had said that he would do unto them; and did it not.” And adding human works to faith for salvation is no salvation at all, it is only pride. 

Only category 1 is salvation.

When salvation has happened, then the fruits of the Spirit are manifest in a saint that are actually wrought of God. 

You’ve never heard me as a Christian endorse living in a bunch of sin, sin is bad, get away from it. But we all are plagued with many sins. 

“Repentance” as it relates to salvation, is to turn from unbelief, to believing on Christ exclusively for salvation.

All glory to the risen Lord Jesus Christ.

“Therefore we conclude that a man is justified by faith without the deeds of the law.” Romans 3.28

“But to him that worketh not, but believeth on him that justifieth the ungodly, his faith is counted for righteousness.” Romans 4.5

Click here for the way of salvation

11 Comments

  1. Lee, I know that you will not post this either, but I know that you will read it, I think that one error that we make as Christians is to build doctrine out of only one or two verses of scripture. Truth is taught us from the whole cloth. “Line upon line, here a little there a little”. Jesus said I come not to bring peace but a sword — this sword of course is spiritual and pits one against the other in their beliefs. We in fact enter a spiritual battle when we determine to follow Jesus. We may not know it at the time, but study which even Paul encourages will lead us to that understanding. Every day we face decisions that can led us either toward life or toward death. Jesus said that no king decides to go to war without first sitting down to consider the cost. There is a cost to every believer who makes the decision to enter this battle. If we have no part in the decision to be saved why did Paul tell us to make our calling and election sure? Faith is a way of life, which requires a decision every time we reach a crossroad in life. Faith is a walk. Jesus admonished the churches in Revelation and called them to repentance, even threatening to remove the candlestick which represented that church. James said show me your faith and I’ll show you my faith by my works. What do you think would have happened with Abraham had he refused to take Isaac to the alter and raise the knife over his head? True he went in faith but that faith without the action to prove it was worthless. Though the Holy Spirit (God) tempts no one with sin, He tests each of us and disciplines each of us, if we refuse Him we are guilty of grieving the Holy Spirit. We are called bond servants in scripture, and the whole creation groans awaiting the revealing of the sons of God. There is a great gulf between easy believism and eternal security, and obedience and the perseverance of the saints. Israel fell into that pit. The rich man and Lazarus both Jews both of the chosen race, the rich man thought and I’m sure was taught that being a Jew was all it would take to enter paradise. Teachers will be judged for what they teach. Under the new covenant the law is being written on our hearts as we allow the Holy Spirit to do His work in us. No man can snatch us from the Fathers hand, but the same word of God says that to all who believe they have been given power or right to become the sons of God (john 1:11-13). Paul says he went to the Jerusalem council in Galatians, in order to get his massage approved for fear that what he was teaching may be in vain. Love you brother keep studying.

    Like

    1. Good mornin my friend. πŸ˜ƒ
      Help me to understand your perspective please.
      A. Do you believe that one can lose salvation? B. Or that one acquires it through and combination of works and faith?
      (I’m not being unkind in my heart at all, I’m just trying to better understand your perspective).
      I guess lastly, do you favor any calvinistic, or dispensational viewpoints? If so, what are they?

      Your friend,
      Lee

      Like

      1. First I believe that Jesus paid the full price for my sins past present and future. My part in salvation which you may call work, I’m not sure, is to believe that in my heart not just in my head. As to losing salvation — the simple answer is yes, but losing salvation is not simple. Paul says in agreement with what Jesus said: if we (emphasis on we) he includes himself; if we deny Him He will deny us, so denying Christ is the end product of a lifetime of rejecting the Holy Spirits leading in ones life, and becomes the basis for losing ones salvation.

        As to Calvinistic or dispensational viewpoints. I believe that all men are in the book of life from the foundation of the earth, we were not created for hell. A study of scripture reveals that names are blotted out of the book of life. I am chosen “in Him” abiding in Him avoids the problem of loss of salvation. Salvation is emphasized in scripture as being past, present, and future. I don’t consider myself to be working toward salvation, but instead to be trusting in the promises made to me in the scriptures, (not denying Him). Jesus is the word of God. I believe the Word, when it didn’t make complete sense I pray and ask for guidance to be able to understand it. Dispensational theology requires a separation of Law and grace. A separation of Israel and the church. Jesus on the other hand came to pay for and offer the new covenant which is Israel’s, we are grafted in with the Jewish remnant into that covenant, which was made to establish Jesus’ EKKLESSIA His church — His called out ones. The new covenant does not do away with the law it is a better covenant in that God’s law is now being written on our hearts. That’s the promise of the covenant in Jerimiah 31. Israel must join this covenant in the same way we did (Hosea 5:15) in order to be saved, and bring His return. Paul says we are now one in the commonwealth of Israel, one new man, one with the saints; Partakers of the covenants and promises we once were outside of. So that’s a long answer– the short answer I’m not a dispensationalist in the sense you ask. I believe in progressive Revelation and God’s Administration (dispensation) of time. This age in which we live is the age of humankind. The Jews were told byJesus that in this age there is marriage and giving in marriage but in the age to come you will be as the angels and will be the sons of God, and there will be no marriage. The Tribulation is therefore a part of this age. The Millennium is the age to come, but there are many likely ages to come. The new covenant is part of God’s progressive revelation of truth, it is still taking place in this age. Like Paul I am running my race, following the Holy Spirits teaching, correction etc through His use of the scriptures. I have an assurance in Him that He will see me through to the end of my life or to the end of this age whichever comes first. Sorry I’m so windy in my writing. My book would explain exactly where I am coming from. Would be glad to mail u a copy free, but only if you want it. As I always end my articles– you be the judge. God bless, and keep studying. Hope I’ve answered what you asked. Please understand I do not fear that I will lose my salvation because I love the Lord and His word. Jesus said you are made clean by the words I’ve spoken to you. What I fear is that men take lightly the gift of salvation which is free, but not as easy as it is portrayed. Taking up your cross daily implies a cost. My life is blessed each and every day because of what God is doing in my life, and just knowing that I do not have to pay for my own sins — it is finished.

        Like

        1. Good mornin. (I’m not sure what to call you, because I don’t know your name).

          Hey, I agree with you that believing on Christ isn’t an intellectual understanding of information about Jesus.

          Salvation is about believing on Christ. Believing that His death, burial, and resurrection applies specifically to you.

          And good mornin.

          Like

        2. Hi Jerry.
          I want to also say that we agree that Jew & Gentile are one new man in Christ, and we who are in Christ are the Israel of God.
          I don’t see how anyone reading Galatians can come to any other conclusion.

          I’m not going to press you anymore about where you stand regarding calvinism or dispensationalism. But I’ll just tell ya where I am about these topics.
          I have previously been both, but I’ve come to reject them both.

          And as always…
          Good mornin to you. πŸ˜ƒ

          Liked by 1 person

    2. Also, your comment stated “Lee, I know that you will not post this either”

      I haven’t removed any of your comments.
      Sometimes the settings in my WordPress site won’t post a comment because of embedded links in the comment, but I haven’t removed any of your comments.
      And good mornin to you. πŸ˜ƒ

      Like

Leave a Reply

