Do debates really accomplish anything good?

Hey! Good mornin to you. 😃

I just now watched part of a debate between an atheist and a Christian, and I had to stop watching it; I’d had enough. And I was thinkin…is this really accomplishing anything? 

But to be honest, I don’t even like debates between people who profess to be Christians. It just seems to be a bunch of strife masked in politeness. The one’s I’ve seen in the past have mostly been debates of defending one systematic theology against another. And I don’t believe in any systematic theology anymore. Debates seem to be like rooting for a sports team or somethin…yeah the dispensational side slam dunked that one, or yeah the reformed side nailed him on that one. (Or any other pair of opposing viewpoints). And I’m like…who cares? I say all of that light heartedly with fun in my humor, but I think ya know what I mean.

Just the other day I had someone try to bait me into a debate. But thankfully, God steered my thinking to not go there. 

Scripture describes debating as a bad thing too, (Romans 1.29 & 2 Corinthians 12.20).

And good mornin to you. 😃👍

Click here for the way of salvation

8 Comments

  1. I share the truth and give scriptural answers and if it looks as though the other person is just wanting to “trample” I am done. I don’t care if I am led to stop and the other person thinks they have won. JESUS WON ALREADY! IT IS DONE AND OVER! I am going to REST in that!!! ALL GLORY AND HONOR TO THE ONE AND ONLY TRUE GOD!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. P.S. I believe the Lord has not only led me out of the practice of Catholicism but as time has gone by I also am seeing that He does not even want me in that building. I can TRULY say that because of HIM I have a special love on my heart for those that practice as with anyone that is lost but that does not mean I have to go into “their” building and listen to the gibberish that no longer makes sense to me. Even if I am not participating my heart aches for the poison they are drinking and eating”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “And no marvel; for Satan himself is transformed into an angel of light. Therefore it is no great thing if his ministers also be transformed as the ministers of righteousness; whose end shall be according to their works.” 2 Cor. 11.14,15

      Like

Leave a Reply

