My testimony reveals why I promote resting in the finished work of Christ so strongly

The false teaching of ongoing forgiveness from God, is the subject of this message. And I really believe that this article can be of help to someone who struggled like I did about understanding being forgiven by God.

My wife has told me that my salvation was the most (spiritually) violent one that she’d ever seen. And she grew up in church, and has seen her share of conversions.

If only I’d known the information then, that I’ve been blessed to know now.

But because of what false religion teaches, I didn’t know what I needed to know, and I was a mental wreck of guilt.

I confessed countless sins of mine to people and businesses, asking for their forgiveness. (Which was scary but necessary), because I had hurt a lot of people, and I owed it to them to try to fix the hurt & damage that I’d caused them. And while this was going on, I was continually asking God for forgiveness. Over and over I’d seek God’s forgiveness…old sins, new sins…there was no end to my sins that needed forgiveness. And this sort of approach to God keeps a person in a gauzy fog, never knowing how forgiven a person is from one day to the next. And even through all of that…my conscience about being forgiven from God still wasn’t cured. This will drive a person to despair.

My problem was, I was chasing after forgiveness from God, instead of resting in it.

My understanding that I had about forgiveness from God, is the product of false religion’s teaching. They teach ongoing forgiveness, and positional & relational forgiveness from God. Some people call it “keeping short accounts with God.” This bondage is often promoted by the misapplication of the evangelistic verse of 1 John 1:9 as an ongoing forgiveness verse. False religion says: “Just keep asking brother, He’ll always forgive you.” (But that’s not how forgiveness from God works).

And man, when God showed me that I’m forgiven ONLY by Jesus’ blood, (not by my ongoing requests), and it happened once for all of my sin…no more forgiveness needed, and no more forgiveness would ever be issued to meI flipped out in joyous relief! I had a meltdown of bliss! You can’t imagine the relief I felt.

You see, ongoing forgiveness was old covenant methodology, (but even in that economy, forgiveness from God was still obtained only by shed blood). The new covenant was actuated at Jesus’ death, (replacing the old covenant), and that ended ongoing forgiveness from God. Because His shed blood was the sufficient one-time payment for sin forgiveness for every believer.

And of course I still talk to God about my struggles. But getting more forgiveness from God isn’t going to happen for me, (or any other believer).

Jesus did it all…and you can rest in that truth right now my friend. And believer, get rid of that awful yoke of trying to get what you’ve already got…you’ll be a lot happier. 😃



For the way of salvation, click here

11 Comments

  1. Thats always been my biggest stumbling block. Listening to man and all thier theories instead of picking up Gods word and letting him teach me. Ive gained way more knowledge and understanding going that route.

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I had already ordered a bible from local church publishers (which is awesome!) when i read your review and decided to get it. I will be ordering it on the 30th ( 8 more days!) , Im on a fixed income so waiting on payday (its always about the money lol). But ive already made up my mind to get it. Im going to use it as my traveling bible as it looks sturdy and would take it better. Replacing my false version bibles with KJV. As soon as i get it ill check it out and tell you what i think 🙂 I cant wait!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Amen-Amein Brother in Christ Jesus-Yeshua!! Wonderful Testimony!! God Bless You and Your Family members and Friends!!

    God Bless All my Sisters and Brothers in Christ Jesus-Yeshua and Your Families and Friends!!

    Praise Jesus-Yeshua Christ for Today and Everyday, HE is KING of kings and LORD of lords!! Hallelujah, Maranatha!!

    Love ❤ Always and Shalom ( Peace ), YSIC \o/

    Kristi Ann

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

