A summary of my bibles in case you’re contemplating buying one of these bibles. And a look at a couple of very useful reading accessories. 

This article is about four bibles that I’m blessed to own; they’re all Authorized King James bibles. They’re all very excellent bibles, and I’d be happy to own any one of these if it were the only bible I could ever own. I used to own and use modern versions, but when I learned how wicked they were, I destroyed them all. 

And I’m not writing this to put down someone else’s bibles or anything like that. I’m writing this because I want to give first-hand information to someone who may be considering buying a new bible.

(A little side note about where I got these bibles from): evangelicalbible.com is a business that sells a variety of brands of premium bibles, and their prices are very competitive. And to my knowledge, they’re the only source for Schuyler bibles. While Local Church Bible Publishers is a ministry that only sells their own proprietary bibles at the cost of production. And both are outstanding sources for bibles purchases.

The Canterbury and Windsor were ordered from here (Evangelical bible)

The black & brown, and black vinyl bible was ordered from here: Local Church Bible Publishers

From top to bottom, (prices are approximate what I paid for them):

Schuyler Canterbury, (big green one), $100,

Local Church Bible Publishers 215 E3T, (black & brown one), $57,

Local Church Bible Publishers 380, vinyl flush-cut text bible, (black with Holy Bible on the cover), $6,

and

Trinitarian Bible Society (TBS) Windsor, (small black one), $35.

The Canterbury & Windsor are both printed and bound by Jongbloed in the Netherlands.

The Canterbury, LCBP 215 E3T, and LCBP 380 are all large print, (I believe in the neighborhood of an 11 point font).

Here’s a better paper comparison: the Canterbury is on the left, and the LCBP 215 is on the right. Do you see the difference in the paper? I prefer the cream-tinted color.

Here’s another paper comparison. Canterbury left, TBS Windsor center, LCBP 215 right. The TBS Windsor clearly beats them all in paper quality.

Here’s a thickness comparison. Top to bottom: LCBP vinyl 380, TBS Windsor, Schuyler Canterbury, LCBP 215 E3T. (A little note about the LCBP 215 E3T: That “E” means “executive” series. Which means, ironed calfskin. To me, it feels too slippery. If I were to order another one, I wouldn’t order another “executive” model, I’d go with one of their traditionally textured bibles).

I don’t care much for the short ribbons that come with bibles. They’re usually too short for maximum efficiency, and they’re usually all the same color. So having different ribbons dedicated to different uses is not very doable, (different colors for old & new testament, random bookmarking, etc.). So I cut the factory ribbons off, and have my bible ribbons custom made from “usmccraftywife” who is on ebay. She does excellent work, and they are well-worth the small price she charges. They’re silky-soft on both sides of the ribbons as well, (so they’re gentle on bible paper). And she’ll make em to whatever specifications you want. Whatever color scheme, and whatever length you want. When you order, you can send a message to the seller. Just tell her what colors & length you want. click here for her ebay site

Below is a photo of her ribbons from her ebay site. (What I do) to make the ribbons stay put, is to use two-sided tape to stick the ribbon fob to the leather-side of the spine hollow…and they never shift around.

And in addition to my bible ribbons, here’s another bible-reading accessory that I use and love. It’s a cheap, very lightweight, under-padded, plastic, portable laptop-computer lap desk (very cheap from Wal-Mart, but you can find them just about anywhere that sells computer accessories). With a cheap, adjustable, metal book stand, (from ebay). I sit in my chair, and put this bad boy on my lap, and I’m reading with ease. It is waaay useful.

The black, rubbery surface is non-skid, kitchen-shelf matting that I bought from Wal-Mart, and I cut it to size, (it’s in the kitchen accessories aisle, and comes on a roll). I fastened it with two-sided tape to my reading platform. That way, my reading stand and my bible stay put, without sliding around as I shift and move.

Here’s an ebay link to a book holder like this one. It’s under $13 with free shipping, (at the time this article was written)

So what’s the final verdict on which bible is the best? I don’t have an answer as to which one is the best, on any given day I might give you a different answer. But I’ll give you some recommendations based on their strong points.

(I have already written full reviews for 3 of these 4 bibles here on my site; only the large black & brown LCBP 215 I haven’t written a review for). 

For brute strength in construction (long lasting with hard handling), and large readable print, the LCBP 215 gets the nod. And it’s a super bargain. It’s sold at the cost of production, (around $57). And it’s built like a tank.

  • (a side note), The Schuyler Canterbury in goatskin is built like this LCBP if you’re willing to pay the extra money for it, (fully stitched construction). But it’s twice the cost of the calfskin model that I own. (The calfskin model that I own is a pastedown text block instead of being fully stitched).

But for readability, (especially for long periods), the Schuyler Canterbury has the edge. It has good paper and large print; it begs to be read. And even though it has a pastedown text block, (for me personally) I would take it over the similar-sized LCBP 215 bible. Because I don’t plan on handling it roughly, and its readability is perhaps a tad better because of its paper. And readability is my biggest priority.

For fun reading anywhere and everywhere and overall excellence: You just can’t beat this $6 LCBP 380 vinyl bible. I love this bible! It has good large print, it’s cheap to buy, and its cover is flush-cut with the pages which makes quick-referencing a breeze, (because you can fast-fan through those pages like a phone book); I love it.

For all around readability & portability, the TBS Windsor is the one to have. It has the best paper, and since it’s on the small side, it’s easy to carry everywhere. And like LCBP, TBS is a ministry, and their bibles sell for about the cost of production as best I understand. It’s a steal at $35 for that paper, and a genuine calfskin cover, (not bonded leather or pigskin). This bible is about as optimum as a bible can be for its size and readability.

So there you have it.

They’re all good choices; you can’t go wrong with any of them.

And for my love for my late grandparents, I’m ending this article with pictures of their king James bible that I now own.

Click here for the way of salvation

Categories: Tags:

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

